Northern Rhodesian Advisory Council election, 1922

From Chalo Chatu, Zambia online encyclopedia

Advisory Council elections were held in Northern Rhodesia in February 1922.[1] Candidates opposed to amalgamation with Southern Rhodesia received 1,117 votes, whilst candidates supportive of the proposal received 310.[2]

Electoral system

Northern Rhodesia was split into two constituencies, North-Western Rhodesia (four seats) and North-Eastern Rhodesia (one seat). Voting was restricted to British subjects over the age of 21 who had lived in the territory for at least six months and owned at least £150 of property.[3] A total of 679 voters registered in North-Western Rhodesia.[4]


In North-Western Rhodesia a total of 569 votes were cast, of which four were invalid.[4]

Constituency Candidate Votes % Notes
North-Eastern Rhodesia C Timmler 38 58.5 Elected
J N Phipps 27 41.5 Defeated
North-Western Rhodesia Leopold Moore 329 19.1 Re-elected
William Doull 295 17.1 Elected
Philip Ellis 276 16.0 Elected
Frederick Clarke 238 13.8 Re-elected
D E C R Stirke 189 10.9 Defeated
Randolf Baker 157 9.1
P F Godson 100 5.8
J L Moore 90 5.2
J F M Oosthuizen 53 3.1
Source: The Livingstone Mail[4]


<templatestyles src="Reflist/styles.css" />

  1. Michael Gelfand (1961) Northern Rhodesia in the days of the charter: medical and social study, 1878-1924, Basil Blackwell, p140
  2. "The Elections", The Livingstone Mail, 2 February 1922, p3
  3. Gelfand, p138
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 "N. Rhodesia Elections: Polling results", The Livingstone Mail, 2 February 1922, p4