Northern Rhodesian Advisory Council election, 1920

From Chalo Chatu, Zambia online encyclopedia

Advisory Council elections were held in Northern Rhodesia in April 1920.[1]

Electoral system

Northern Rhodesia was split into two constituencies, North-Western Rhodesia (four seats) and North-Eastern Rhodesia (one seat). Voting was restricted to British subjects over the age of 21 who had lived in the territory for at least six months and owned at least £150 of property.[2]


Seat Elected members
North-Eastern Rhodesia J L Bruce
North-Western Rhodesia W M Alexander
Frederick Clarke
Leopold Moore
D E C R Stirke
Source: Northern Rhodesia Journal


<templatestyles src="Reflist/styles.css" />

  1. Michael Gelfand (1961) Northern Rhodesia in the days of the charter: medical and social study, 1878-1924, Basil Blackwell, p139
  2. Gelfand, p138