Northern Rhodesian general election, 1948

From Chalo Chatu, Zambia online encyclopedia

General elections were held in Northern Rhodesia on 14 August 1948.[1]


Constituency Candidate Votes % Notes
Broken Hill Roy Welensky Unopposed Re-elected
Livingstone and Western Herbert Millar Elected
Cuthbert Garret
Luanshya Albert Davies Elected
Harold Webb
Lusaka Ernest Sergeant Elected
Alexander Scott
Clarence Lewis
Midland Marais von Eeden Elected
Clifford Kelly
Mufulira-Chingola James Morris Elected
Gladys Douglas
Alexander Stephens
Ndola Ewain Wilson Unopposed Elected
Nkana George L'Ange Elected
Brian Goodwin Defeated
North-Eastern Frank Robertson Unopposed Elected
South-Western Geoffrey Beckett Unopposed Elected
Source: East Africa and Rhodesia[2]


Two African members were appointed to the Legislative Council; Henry Kaskolo and Nelson Nalumango.[2]


<templatestyles src="Reflist/styles.css" />

  1. "General Election in N. Rhodesia: Four Candidates Returned Unopposed", East Africa and Rhodesia, 29 July 1948, p1315
  2. 2.0 2.1 "Northern Rhodesia's General Election: Six New Members Returned at Last Week's Poll, East Africa and Rhodesia, 2 September 1948, p1465