Eastern Province

From Chalo Chatu, Zambia online encyclopedia
(Redirected from Eastern Province, Zambia)
Jump to: navigation, search
Eastern Province showing its districts.
Eastern Province showing its districts.
Country Zambia
 • Total51,476 km2 (19,875 sq mi)
Population (2010)
 • Total1,592,661
 • Density31/km2 (80/sq mi)

Eastern Province is one of Zambia's ten provinces. The province lies between the Luangwa River and the border with Malawi to the east and Mozambique to the South, from Isoka in the northeast to just north of Luangwa in the south.[1]

The provincial capital is Chipata. The province's population was 1,592,661 in the 2010 census - about 12% of Zambia's total population.

National Parks and wildlife areas


Eastern Province was formerly divided into 9 districts:

However, Chama District was transferred to the new Muchinga Province when the latter was created in 2011.


  1. Simon, David J.; Pletcher, James R.; Siegel, Brian V., eds. (2008). "Eastern Province". Historical Dictionary of Zambia. African Historical Dictionaries. 106 (3rd ed.). Metuchen, New Jersey: Scarecrow Press. p. 104. ISBN 978-0-8108-5305-8.<templatestyles src="Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css"></templatestyles>

Lua error: callParserFunction: function "#coordinates" was not found.