Districts of Zambia

From Chalo Chatu, Zambia online encyclopedia
(Redirected from District)
Jump to: navigation, search
Districts of Zambia

The ten provinces of Zambia are divided into a total of 105 districts.

Article 109 in part VIII of the constitution of Zambia deals with local government. It states only that there should be some form of local government, and that this local government should be based on democratically elected councils on the basis of adult suffrage.[1]

Until 2013, Zambia was subdivided into 72 districts. Between 2010 and 2013 a number of new districts were created to bring the total to 105.[2]

Central Province

Districts of Central Zambia

Central Province is composed of 11 districts.

Copperbelt Province

Districts of Copperbelt

Copperbelt Province is composed of 10 districts.

Eastern Province

Districts of Eastern Zambia

Eastern Province is composed of 9 districts.

Luapula Province

Districts of Luapula

Luapula Province is composed of 11 districts.

Lusaka Province

Districts of Lusaka

Lusaka Province is composed of 8 districts.

Muchinga Province

Muchinga Province is composed of 7 districts.

Northern Province

Districts of Northern Zambia

Northern Province is composed of 9 districts.

North-Western Province

Districts of North-Western Zambia

North-Western Province is composed of 11 districts.

Southern Province

Districts of Southern Zambia

Southern Province is composed of 13 districts.

Western Province

Districts of Western Zambia

Western Province is composed of 16 districts.

See also


  1. "Constitution of Zambia (1996)". The Zambian - Gateway to Zambia. Retrieved 2006-10-22.<templatestyles src="Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css"></templatestyles>
  2. "Ministry signs contracts for construction of 180 housing units in 17 newly created Districts". Ministry Of Local Government. 2013. Retrieved 21 December 2013.<templatestyles src="Module:Citation/CS1/styles.css"></templatestyles>

External links